Bhutan Electricity Authority

Policy, Research & Communication Division


  • Provide leadership for all research and planning activities to advance and accelerate the development of rules, regulations, etc. as required by the Authority;
  • Provide and store information on matters of policy and by the laws issued by the Authority;
  • Maintaining a professional and informative website;
  • Maintain strong working relationships, on behalf of the organization, with licensees, policymakers, and relevant stakeholders.
  • Development, integration, and implementation of a broad range of activities related to the strategic direction and positioning of the organization and its leadership;
  • The ability for strategic planning, change processes, results-based management, and reporting;
  • Preparation of operational plans and targets of the Division;
  • Plan and coordinate the activities of division with other divisions for the smooth operation of BEA’s set targets;
  • Develop strategies for implementation of the operational plans and target of the Division;
  • Support the Secretariat in strengthening the internal capacity of the division and in improving the internal work processes, staff performance, and overall effectiveness of the Division;
  • Participate as a member of various committees, and working groups in achieving the overall objective of the BEA Secretariat;
  • Assist the Secretariat in strategic areas including in the strategic meetings, discussion, and brainstorming sessions;
  • Promotes knowledge development and management through establishing a learning environment in Division;
  • Seek and apply knowledge, information, and best practices from within and outside of Secretariat;
  • Build good networks with utilities and relevant stakeholders; and
  • Guide, train, and mentor the subordinates of the Division to continually drive higher performance.


Mr. Dorji
Chief Policy Research & Communication Division

Mr. Sangay Phuntsho
Dy. Chief Legal Officer

Mr. Pema Wangchen
Dy. Chief Analyst

Mr. Khando
Sr. ICT Officer

Mr. Sangay Sherpa
Sr. Environment Officer

Mrs. Tshering Choden
Asst. Economist

                               Am Bdr Subba                                                         Research Officer